Welcome!

Java IoT Authors: Zakia Bouachraoui, Liz McMillan, Pat Romanski, Yeshim Deniz, Elizabeth White

Related Topics: PowerBuilder

PowerBuilder: Article

SYS-CON Launches "PBDJ 2009" Website for PowerBuilder Developer's Journal

The largest PB knowledge repository in the world, PBDJ has served more than 8 million pages of PowerBuilder know-how to date

SYS-CON Media announced today that the Website showcasing one of its most distinguished titles, PowerBuilder Developer's Journal (PBDJ), founded in 1994 and now now in its sixteenth consecutive year of publication, has been stunningly re-designed and re-launched at PBDJ 2009 - where under the technical-savvy leadership of longtime Editor Bruce Armstrong, PBDJ continues to publish in-depth perspectives, technical features, industry columns, book reviews and excerpts, all written by thought leaders in the worldwide PowerBuilder community.

Distinguished contributions over the years have included an article by Sybase's own Dr Raj Nathan, Senior Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer of Worldwide Marketing and Business Solutions Operations, and a very popular interview with Sybase Chairman, CEO and President, John S. Chen. (The full Chen interview can also be viewed here on SYS-CON.TV.)

Most important, the all-new site introduces for the first time a welter of new and original social features, including the ability for every member of the PowerBuilder community to create his or her own wholly individual customized home page, in connection with the articles and blogs they contribute to the community. It is now simple to become a high-profile member of the most active group of PowerBuilder experts anywhere on the Web, and with just a few clicks to obtain a 100% professional-standard homepage that will become the mainstay of many contributors' web- and professional life, and deeply integrated with PBDJ 2009 into the bargain!

"The new look and feel of the PBDJ 2009 site, and most especially the brand new and dynamic functionality that has been created to support it, represents a timely reminder of the continuing significance of the worldwide PowerBuilder user base," said Jeremy Geelan, Sr. Vice-President, Editorial & Events at SYS-CON Media. "As publisher of the first and only magazine in the world exclusively serving that user base, SYS-CON is tremendously excited to be playing its part in helping to maintain Sybase's PowerBuilder at the very forefront of Enterprise IT reporting and analysis in 2009."

"PowerBuilder Developer's Journal published 4,325 original articles on Sybase, 1,765 technical articles, tutorials, feature stories on PowerBuilder, and 899 articles on Sybase iAnywhere," said SYS-CON founder Fuat Kircaali. "SYS-CON has served more than 8 million pages to PBDJ readers and Sybase PowerBuilder customers."

In addition to PowerBuilder, the new-look site will also be covering Sybase's many related initiatives, including PowerDesigner, PocketBuilder, DataWindows.NET, EAServer, Workspace and SQL Anywhere - as well as additionally running occasional articles on other products such as Adaptive Server Enterprise, Open Client, and Mobilink.

PBDJ 2009 authors and contributors include:

Bruce Armstrong, editor-in-chief (http://brucearmstrong.sys-con.com)
Thomas Zang (http://thomaszang.sys-con.com)
Ido Millet (http://idomillett.sys-con.com)
John Olson (http://johnolson.sys-con.com)
Adrian Bridgwater (http://adrianbridgwater.sys-con.com/)
Victor A Reinhart (http://victorareinhart.sys-con.com/)
Frederick Koh (http://frederickkoh.sys-con.com/)
Gao Hong (http://gaohong.sys-con.com/)
Ni Hai-bo (http://nihaibo.sys-con.com/)
Gan Ya-qin (http://ganya-qin.sys-con.com/)
Liang Liang (http://liangliang.sys-con.com/)
Ian Thain (http://ianthain.sys-con.com/)
Arthur Hefti (http://arthurhefti.sys-con.com/)
Yong Li (http://yongli.sys-con.com/)
Eric Farrar (http://ericfarrar.sys-con.com/)
Berndt Hamboeck (http://berndthamboeck.sys-con.com/)
Oscar Uriel Tobar Rios (http://oscarurieltobarrios.sys-con.com/)
Maggie Lv (http://maggielv.sys-con.com/)
Abdul Azeez (http://abdulazeez.sys-con.com/)
Chris Pollach (http://chrispollach.sys-con.com/)
Victor DeMarines (http://victordemarines.sys-con.com/)
Mark Luckasavage (http://markluckasavage.sys-con.com/)
SB Gogia (http://sbgogia.sys-con.com/)
Amal Sharma (http://amalsharma.sys-con.com/)
Bhaskar Azad (http://bhaskarazad.sys-con.com/)
Rohit Tyagi (http://rohittyagi.sys-con.com/)
Vazi Okhandiar (http://vaziokhandiar.sys-con.com/)
Alon Baadani (http://alonbaadani.sys-con.com/)
Jim O'Neil (http://jimoneil.sys-con.com/)
Al Soucy (http://alsoucy.sys-con.com/)

PBDJ 2009 will continue to provide timely and stimulating reading for CIOs, CTOs, VPs of Engineering, Software Development Project Leads, IS Directors/Managers, Systems Abalysts, Software Architects, Application Programmers, Software Developers, Database Developers, and Systems Integrators. It is not to be missed. Take a look today!

Digital Archives of All PBDJ Issues to Date:
http://pbdj.sys-con.com/issues

Want to Advertise on PDDJ 2009?
http://www2.sys-con.com/advertising/overviewpowerbuilder.html

More Stories By PowerBuilder News Desk

PBDJ News Desk monitors the world of PowerBuilder to present IT professionals with updates on technology advances, business trends, new products and standards in the PowerBuilder and i-technology space.

Comments (0)

Share your thoughts on this story.

Add your comment
You must be signed in to add a comment. Sign-in | Register

In accordance with our Comment Policy, we encourage comments that are on topic, relevant and to-the-point. We will remove comments that include profanity, personal attacks, racial slurs, threats of violence, or other inappropriate material that violates our Terms and Conditions, and will block users who make repeated violations. We ask all readers to expect diversity of opinion and to treat one another with dignity and respect.


IoT & Smart Cities Stories
To Really Work for Enterprises, MultiCloud Adoption Requires Far Better and Inclusive Cloud Monitoring and Cost Management … But How? Overwhelmingly, even as enterprises have adopted cloud computing and are expanding to multi-cloud computing, IT leaders remain concerned about how to monitor, manage and control costs across hybrid and multi-cloud deployments. It’s clear that traditional IT monitoring and management approaches, designed after all for on-premises data centers, are falling short in ...
DXWordEXPO New York 2018, colocated with CloudEXPO New York 2018 will be held November 11-13, 2018, in New York City and will bring together Cloud Computing, FinTech and Blockchain, Digital Transformation, Big Data, Internet of Things, DevOps, AI, Machine Learning and WebRTC to one location.
Discussions of cloud computing have evolved in recent years from a focus on specific types of cloud, to a world of hybrid cloud, and to a world dominated by the APIs that make today's multi-cloud environments and hybrid clouds possible. In this Power Panel at 17th Cloud Expo, moderated by Conference Chair Roger Strukhoff, panelists addressed the importance of customers being able to use the specific technologies they need, through environments and ecosystems that expose their APIs to make true ...
"Space Monkey by Vivent Smart Home is a product that is a distributed cloud-based edge storage network. Vivent Smart Home, our parent company, is a smart home provider that places a lot of hard drives across homes in North America," explained JT Olds, Director of Engineering, and Brandon Crowfeather, Product Manager, at Vivint Smart Home, in this SYS-CON.tv interview at @ThingsExpo, held Oct 31 – Nov 2, 2017, at the Santa Clara Convention Center in Santa Clara, CA.
We are seeing a major migration of enterprises applications to the cloud. As cloud and business use of real time applications accelerate, legacy networks are no longer able to architecturally support cloud adoption and deliver the performance and security required by highly distributed enterprises. These outdated solutions have become more costly and complicated to implement, install, manage, and maintain.SD-WAN offers unlimited capabilities for accessing the benefits of the cloud and Internet. ...
In an era of historic innovation fueled by unprecedented access to data and technology, the low cost and risk of entering new markets has leveled the playing field for business. Today, any ambitious innovator can easily introduce a new application or product that can reinvent business models and transform the client experience. In their Day 2 Keynote at 19th Cloud Expo, Mercer Rowe, IBM Vice President of Strategic Alliances, and Raejeanne Skillern, Intel Vice President of Data Center Group and G...
Business professionals no longer wonder if they'll migrate to the cloud; it's now a matter of when. The cloud environment has proved to be a major force in transitioning to an agile business model that enables quick decisions and fast implementation that solidify customer relationships. And when the cloud is combined with the power of cognitive computing, it drives innovation and transformation that achieves astounding competitive advantage.
DXWorldEXPO LLC announced today that "IoT Now" was named media sponsor of CloudEXPO | DXWorldEXPO 2018 New York, which will take place on November 11-13, 2018 in New York City, NY. IoT Now explores the evolving opportunities and challenges facing CSPs, and it passes on some lessons learned from those who have taken the first steps in next-gen IoT services.
The current age of digital transformation means that IT organizations must adapt their toolset to cover all digital experiences, beyond just the end users’. Today’s businesses can no longer focus solely on the digital interactions they manage with employees or customers; they must now contend with non-traditional factors. Whether it's the power of brand to make or break a company, the need to monitor across all locations 24/7, or the ability to proactively resolve issues, companies must adapt to...
"IBM is really all in on blockchain. We take a look at sort of the history of blockchain ledger technologies. It started out with bitcoin, Ethereum, and IBM evaluated these particular blockchain technologies and found they were anonymous and permissionless and that many companies were looking for permissioned blockchain," stated René Bostic, Technical VP of the IBM Cloud Unit in North America, in this SYS-CON.tv interview at 21st Cloud Expo, held Oct 31 – Nov 2, 2017, at the Santa Clara Conventi...